1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

List of NBA champions

The National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals is the championship series to the NBA and the end of its postseason. All Finals have been played at a best-of-seven format, and therefore are contested between the winners of the Eastern Conference and the Western Convention (formerly Divisions earlier 1970), except in 1950 when the Eastern Division winner confronted the winner between the Western and Central Division champions. From 1946 through 1949, once the league was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where both semifinal winners played in the finals. [1][2][3] this series’ winning group receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.
The current home-and-away format in the NBA Finals is 2–2–1–1–1 (the group with the superior regular-season record plays on their home court in Games 1, 2, 5, and 7), which has been used in 1947–1948, 1950–1952, 1957–1970, 1972–1974, 1976–1977, 1979–1984, and 2014–gift. It was formerly at a 2–3–2 format (the team with the better regular season record plays in their home court in Games 1, 2, 6, and 7) through 1949, 1953–1955, and 1985–2013,[4][5][6][7][8][9] in a 1–1–1–1–1–1–1 format during 1956 and 1971, respectively [10][11] and in a 1–2–2–1–1 format during 1975 and 1978. [12][13]
The Eastern Conference/Division leads the Western Conference/Division in series won (39–34). The Central Division, when the then existing Eastern Division was updated as a conference, in existence during the 1949 — 50 NBA year when the NBA was split into three divisions and different from the Central Division made in 1970, won one tournament. The Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics alone possess nearly half of the titles, having won a 33 of 73 championships. The defending champions are, as of 2019.

Read more: health-life-news.com